The Green Lie

Without putting references regular readers will know that even though I contributed to 2 Nobel Prizes relating to climate change in 2007. I abhor the word Green. This is one example why.

http://www.ecofriend.org/entry/eco-tech-lamar-advertising-going-green-with-new-solar-powered-billboards/

Eco Tech: Lamar Advertising going green with new solar-powered billboards

Eco Factor: Billboard uses solar power and light-reflecting digital light.

Lamar Advertising, which has been operating a poster-size billboard equipped with magink’s technology in Pensacola, Fla, is now testing its new digital billboard technology. The motive behind this attempt is to provide an alternative to current digital billboards polluting the environment. It’s a sort of blending of solar power and light-reflecting digital light. That means no more light-emitting diodes and less energy consumption. Instead of giving a feel of a lighted sign, it looks like a paper. Along with lowering energy consumption, these billboards are also capable of delivering higher resolutions than LED boards. Technology is developed by U.K. and Israel-based magink and can prove to be a blessing to areas like Los Angeles facing municipal and legislative opposition to building out digital boards.

It is considered ‘green’ to use solar power to advertise to increase consumption and hence destabilize the planets ecological life support systems.

How is this sustainable ecologically? It isn’t but it is still called green. Ignore greenwashing. 

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by ecolizzy on June 18, 2009 - 8:00 am

    “How is this sustainable ecologically? It isn’t but it is still called green. Ignore greenwashing”

    Roger I love how you point things out as fake! Please put this on the NN blog. I’m pleased there are people like you around to explain the reall view of life, I just wish you had more publicity! liz

    • #2 by celticlion on June 18, 2009 - 2:09 pm

      Thanks Lizzy I will post it on the NN blog tonight then.

      If you have been following the news today, the climate change story has broken. More or less the magnitude of what I have been posting. But as you can see from this post they will not be able to do any thing about it.

      They do not undersatnd the problem.

  2. #3 by ecolizzy on June 18, 2009 - 4:16 pm

    Can you put up a link or two here Roger, I’m sorry I’ve missed it, but I haven’t been on the comp much todya122222 only briefly, as you can see I’m having kitten trouble! liz

  3. #4 by ecolizzy on June 18, 2009 - 4:20 pm

    Silly me yes I have read it, you mean this http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/8107014.stm Roger!

    Dear oh dear, I’ve got a scatty kitten yelling at me, and running around madly, I’m getting a bit old to keep up!

    As earwicga says perhaps you ought to get another dog! : ) liz

  4. #5 by celticlion on June 18, 2009 - 8:45 pm

    I am staying at my mums till I get my own place and she doesn’t do animals. So need to get things moving to get my own place.

    I need to make sure the police are off my back as well. You can’t have responsibility for a puppy with the ‘knock on the door in the night squad’ on your case.

    They have absoluty no concern for animals. If they stop you in the street they will put you in a van and just let a puupy wander on it’s own on a main road completely lost. Nothing to do with us they say.

  5. #6 by ecolizzy on June 24, 2009 - 12:34 pm

    So could this…. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/8115464.stm mean that the whole ecological system, (because of a warmer climate,) speed up even more quickly, just as these animals DNA have Roger?

    • #7 by celticlion on June 24, 2009 - 6:53 pm

      Yes in theory. But no in reality.

      The evolution of a species is related to it’s environment or more specifically it niche.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecological_niche

      As we (humans) are destroying the environment there is less for evolution to adapt to or create. One of the definitions of evolution in respect to ecological climax

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Climax_(biology)

      is increasing diversity. The mechanism as the article said is related to that. But we as humans are destroying habitats and making species extinct. So in a a way swimming against the tide of what life on this planet has been doing for billions of years.

      You raise also great philosophical questions relating to what is life, purpose etc. what do you mean speed up. The power of such as this lap top has increased exponentially. Is this evolution? Is ‘machine’ evolution a continuation of the organic processes.

      Should we destroy the billions of years of the organic processes in order to have more machine or technological innovation. Is the next generation ipod worth more than the dolphin?

  6. #8 by ecolizzy on June 25, 2009 - 1:39 pm

    Yes the “next generation ipod” is a very good point. Just what is it worth. I don’t care a damn about it, but my flippin kids do. People that have grown up with technology, all want it to keep on increasing, I notice this a lot in young men.

    Personally I know I waste a lot of time on the computer, reading, reading, reading, but at the end of the day has it done me or the world any good. Wouldn’t I be much better off, healthier, fitter, mentally more sound, if I got off the machine. I’m not forced on here by work. And went and helped build a path or plant some trees or shrubs for a wildlife organisation?!

    But I live in the overcrowded south east, every journey takes time because of traffic, and I live in a small town, not the countryside. So it needs some effort to make oneself “get a life”!!!

    liz : )

Leave a Reply

