Threats to Zimbabwean Wildlife and Us

A Nobel Prize winner phoned me up to say this was an outstanding analysis. Ahead of it’s time. Read the original from our sister blog.

http://thecelticlion.blogspot.com/2008/02/africa-political-instability-wildlife.html

Perhaps the time is now.

, , ,

  1. #1 by ecolizzy on April 20, 2009 - 8:12 am

    Hi Roger…. Can you please explain more about what you mean by this statement…..

    “Go on Google, Celtic Lion Africa and see what will happen. Prince Charles says we have 100 months. No we have 44 months or we all die.”

    How have you calculated the 44 months, and why are you so sure everything will go wrong?

    Thanks

  2. #2 by celticlion on April 20, 2009 - 6:14 pm

    The search engine seems to have changed it’s priority.

    The Newsnight programme covered the killing of wildlife. I had covered this over a year before. Check link

    They have the climate models but everything is not in them. Eg political instability causes people to kill wildlife. The ecosystem breaks down, releasing more CO2 than the climate models that say 100 months.

    As yet I haven’t the resources to set up my own models that reflect completely, remmber the models the media quoote are only climate models . So I look at other models and predictions and assess what they are leaving out. When another factor turns up they haven’t included, that will reduce the time before the ecosystem reaches a point of criticality and collapses to a degree the planet will not support human society. I consider that with respect to their original projections.

  3. #3 by ecolizzy on April 20, 2009 - 6:39 pm

    “Eg political instability causes people to kill wildlife”

    Ah yes Roger I have read about that. Look at Zimbabwe, the people are killing elephants for food. And the Congo where they are eating the gorillas, so already that is happening, and you are right.

  4. #4 by celticlion on April 20, 2009 - 6:52 pm

    Its the link above to my other blog.

    Political instability causes destruction of ecosystems. This not included in the climate models the media is telling you about.

    So the situation is worse than they telling. Remember the 100 months is based on climate only scenarios. Doesn’t include affects of pollution, extinctions of species, ecosystem collapse. social collapse etc. etc and every other problem you can think of.

  5. #5 by ecolizzy on April 21, 2009 - 8:41 am

    More evidence Roger?… http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/8009412.stm

    And of course I’ve also realised with mass immigration around the world, that will also lead to destabilisation of currently sound societies.

    • #6 by celticlion on April 21, 2009 - 8:26 pm

      That’s it we have to add all these destabilizing factors together. The media and politicians just present the ‘climate system’ only model, we have to understand the ‘whole system’ model.

  6. #7 by ecolizzy on April 22, 2009 - 7:46 am

    Roger I’ve just re-read “Our submission” did you really write this in 2002?

    “I’d like to see a vision of how the UK can actually enjoy slowly sliding into the background as the world falls into recession. Not because I want it to happen, but because it might.”

    So you even predicted we would go into recession!!!!! Yes I would like to see the UK sliding into the background, I can never understand why such a small country thinks it’s so important!

    • #8 by celticlion on April 22, 2009 - 7:43 pm

      Thanks for reading our work again. I’d love to know why you went back to such an involved article, especially when there are 7 billion pages out there on the web. I really appreciate you reading it again, and pleased you got something else out of it.

      Yes it was all wrote in December 2002. That bit was a reply to me. Written by the head of super computing on one of the climate models. If you read the first part again note the phrase:

      “Are these paying the cost of air conditioning in Houston, £158 billion of UK consumer credit, 12 lane interstate highways and congestion on the M6″.

      He was replying to me telling him the UK and world would go into recession from another topic. £158 billion of credit in 2002. Increasing every year to the present situation until the system became unsustainable . Crash

      The UN advised the Government in 2003 of our concerns, but the Government didn’t take them on board. Not only did I know that the recession would occur, we knew when it would occur and the amounts to within a few billion the amount involved.

      That this situation would occur was known from 1991.
      https://celticlion.wordpress.com/2009/02/12/knowledge-of-the-economic-crash/

      What the media and politicians are telling everyone is not true. Newsnight phoned me up and I told the researcher the recession was known about. He just dismissed me saying that was impossible, would not even entertain looking at the evidence.

      This is why I don’t bother watching it. I know what they are telling the public is not true. Newsnight is mostly fiction, just a charade being acted out. Those watching it are just being told rubbish to entertain them.

      Perhaps you could put a post on the Newsnight blog now you have seen some of the evidence, saying Celtic Lion knew the recession would occur.

  7. #9 by ecolizzy on April 22, 2009 - 10:18 pm

    Why did I go back to reading it Roger? Well as an OAP and one that hates housework, and all the other things I’m supposed to do, I like finding information. So I went back to take a second look. So much of what you say makes sense to me, I get a feeling about life. I keep reading articles from all over the place, and am generally interested in the world and what’s happening. What you say seems to ring true, lots of things are failing, but everyone is turning a blind eye, and burying their head in the sand, and having fun. People can’t face the truth of our dire circumstances. I think Jean often says some very straight things, and other posters hate her for it. But she appears to understand everything from an unemotional or scientific point of view. Am I right there?

    I don’t even think politicians want to admit there’s going to be a catastrophy, it would look as though they’d personally caused it, hhhmmm perhaps they have!

    • #10 by celticlion on April 22, 2009 - 11:20 pm

      Unfortunately we are at the end of days. I was an engineer, a metallurgist, by accident, so had to do all these things on quantum physics etc, real hard core stuff. When the job ended as my interest was always ecology I combined the 2 and developed systems to predict the future took me bloody years. I thought people would appreciate knowing when floods would happen so they could be prevented. I developed all sorts of stuff.

      Crewe police asked me to go to the police station in 98. The tortured and nearly killed me. The only way I would be allowed to live was if I signed a blank form. They later filled it in with details of an arrest that never happened. This allowed them to produce bail conditions which took my job and business off me. I was put into court. Only the prosecution were allowed to give evidence. No cross examination was allowed. I was convicted of an assault that not only had I not done I had never even been arrested or charged with.

      I could no longer teach or lecture or even apply for most jobs. So I lost everything and was made homeless.

      People had seen my work and realise it would ‘rock the boat’. So the police were asked by local authorities to take me out. One county councillor explained that it was considered my work was so valuable if I wasn’t stopped it would create so many jobs, local authorities would lose grants to create jobs.

      I knew when economies would collapse, floods would happen. What you read was part of a damage limitation exercise. To try and save lives I moved to Scotland. I reported the 2007 UK floods to Tayside police as a terrorist incident in October 2006. They wouldn’t do anything. 13 people died. Lots of people knew they were going to happen. Try reading that article again, note the numbers of times I mention floods etc.

      Some top academics think my work on planetary management is the equal of Einsteins was on physics. Police officers have threatened me what if I try and do something. They will only kill themselves. When planetary ecosystems collapse we all go. I could reverse the damage and sort it out. But the police and politicians will not let me. Which brings me to you your last paragraph.

  8. #11 by ecolizzy on April 23, 2009 - 1:51 pm

    Oh dear Roger, yet another example….. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/8008700.stm but we continue to ignore what is happening…..I suppose if we were all made to sit up and take notice… everybody would go mad……all the things you’ve written keep creeping nearer!

    • #12 by celticlion on April 23, 2009 - 3:41 pm

      So when it has all gone and we all live in concrete cities of polluted violence. There will be no beauty, no life elsewhere, no mystery left and those remaining will ask, what is the point of existence? We have to turn it round now.

  9. #13 by ecolizzy on April 24, 2009 - 7:43 am

    Roger did you watch this last night?

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00jzjys/Who_Killed_the_Honey_Bee/

    I have been aware for some time that we had a big problem in the decline of the honey bee. I didn’t realise that we had lost as much as a third of our honey bees in the last year though. Because people don’t understand about pollination they don’t realise we won’t have enough food. My garden is always full of wild bees, I do have many flowers especially at the moment. But the programme also said these and other pollinaters, certain flys etc. are also in decline because of chemicals and mono culture farming here and in the US in a particular. Luckily for us at the moment, Oz bees are well and healthy, so are busily supplying the US with bees.

  10. #15 by ecolizzy on April 24, 2009 - 12:22 pm

    Very good description you’ve written there on your link Roger. 🙂

    On Countryfile the other week they had a scientist reporting that he thought nicotine sprays were responsible for the bee decline. http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00jzjnh/Countryfile_19_04_2009/ (And an aside, I’ve seen that womans sculpture, they are beautiful) I think it might have been a french scientist doing the research, he said the bees were poisoned, because all parts of the plant absorb the chemical, and the bees died after eating nectar. The scientist pointed out that the pollen and the nectar had nicotine in it. He’d filmed this happening.

    • #16 by celticlion on April 24, 2009 - 12:46 pm

      Thank you, you praise is appreciated. We must try to get people away from the ‘climate change’ only obsession and see the whole challenge.

      There are similar problems with amphibians- toads, frogs and newts. They absorb toxins through their skin from the environment. Haven’t had time to follow link or make the sculpture connection yet. Is that in the link?

  11. #17 by ecolizzy on April 24, 2009 - 1:26 pm

    Yes Roger the sculptress is featured in the programme, I’m sorry I can’t remember her name. She makes them from driftwood, usually horses but she also makes deer. I’m a fed up with Countryfile now though, it’s all about daring doo, more how to wreck the countryside than quietly go and look and appreciate it!!! : (

    Yup I’m quite interested in Frogs etc. and know they are dying out all over the world. Although occasionally researchers find a new species! I’ve read that a lot have a fungus that covers their skin and suffocates them. The fungus was originally found in Africa and didn’t affect the indiginous frogs, but has now been transported world wide. But as you say there are several reasons for it…. lack of rain… not enough leaf depth… eating them…. using them for poisins, the list goes on and on…..

  12. #18 by ecolizzy on May 17, 2009 - 8:22 am

    Yet more to prove you right Roger!!!

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/8054041.stm

  13. #19 by celticlion on May 17, 2009 - 7:55 pm

    Thanks Liz. If the Government had stuck to the rules and criteria of the Millennium Dome competition, we would have a global centre that would have addressed all these challenges.

    At least the report is now including environmental degradation as well as climate change. First you must identify the problem before you can solve it.

    The race is on, can we sort the mess out before it’s too late?

  14. #20 by ecolizzy on May 28, 2009 - 8:06 am

    Dum, de dum, yet more evidence of the great decline, this time here in Britain Roger.

    http://www.rspb.org.uk/news/details.asp?id=tcm:9-217895

  15. #21 by ecolizzy on June 30, 2009 - 7:28 pm

    But here is some excellent news…. http://floridaleatherbacks.com/node/1154 I’ve followed this blog for quite a few years. I can’t believe the nest count this year! I’m really pleased. I wonder if they’ll find out why they had so many nests this year.

    • #22 by celticlion on June 30, 2009 - 9:44 pm

      I don’t know why the population has increased.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leatherback_turtle

      U fortunately I just haven’t got the time to do all the things I want. I hope populations are not increasing for a bad reason. Leatherbacks feed mainly on jellyfish. Jellyfish populations around the world have been increasing due to many of their predators being killed. I hope the Leatherback population is not just a spike, caused by the decline in other species allowing more food which the Leatherback has taken advatage of.

      Pleased Sara is OK !

  16. #23 by ecolizzy on June 30, 2009 - 10:17 pm

    Ah yes the dreaded plastic carrier bag! Who would have thought of the problems discarded bags, and plastic bottles can do. But you can see why a turtle would mistake a bag floating in the sea as a jellyfish! What a pity information like that isn’t more openly available. I didn’t know the dangers of these bags until I started reading this blog. I just thought it was an aesthetic problem! Silly me. I have read about the tiny millions of pellets of plastic, now on seashores around the world. About to kill another load of wildlife, and us if we eat the animal!!!

    • #24 by celticlion on June 30, 2009 - 11:27 pm

      This is the mess we are in. Climate change climate change is all I hear. There are so many other challenges we need to apply ourselves to.

Leave a Reply

