What A Beautiful Day, A Humpin’ an’ a Shovin’

Well apart from the work on global development I have to have balance in my life. being a relatively skinny 6ft and 16 stone I love gettin’ down and dirty with construction work and associated things. So I have been landscaping a garden. I am really proud of it, it will be ecological and beautiful. I’ll have to post some pictures of the before and after and the bit in between.

One benefit of sometimes working on your own is you don’t have to bother with some of the health and safety stuff. Some people spend money  going to the gym. Me I like carrying 3 by 2 slabs and laying them. With the problems Blairgowrie police have given me I had been scared to go out. The last time they attacked me I didn’t defend myself and got hurt.

So what if they do it again. Should I defend myself. If someone was attacked by 3 muggers, or they stopped someone else being attacked, and they say threw assailants  over a fence they would be considered a hero. But what happens when someone is attacked by 3 police officers and they did the same. They would be a criminal and convicted for assault. So I hadn’t been out. Not matter how much you know if the police attack you not to defend yourself. Deep down you are over riding your basic instinct for self protection.  What would happen if I did defend myself? So I never went out so that scenario would never have to be explored.

Anyway after the lovely visit to Alva to see all the Bearded Collies, then a walk in the country and a couple of short bikes rides I started feeling better. Staying in affects your health and well being. Time to reverse that. So a bit of gardening was the next logical step on such a gorgeous day.

So I saw Alan and we arranged to pick up some horse manure for me to prepare the soil where I am going to lay the lawn. We had got a load before Christmas with his Peugeot 6o something and trailer. He had got a new Citroen C5 now. Off to the farm and it looked dry and fine. We loaded up the trailer and tried to pull away. Car and trailer were going no where.

For some reason it looked like the two cars had a slightly different weight bias and the front tyres of the C5 wouldn’t grip on the slight but grassy slope. Still Alan, I have to give him his due wouldn’t give up. For more than 30 minutes we tried to move it no luck. Eventually we found that if he could move it a foot, with the front end sliding side to side if I got my spade and removed the top inch of grassy soil, where the wheel next went we could slowly inch it forward.

“Get out of the way” yelled Alan. The wheels though turning at 20 mph were not gripping and the set up was stationary. Now they had found grip. Alan couldn’t stop he had to keep going. The small track was bound on one side by the midden on the other by a long pile of rubble and stones. I couldn’t jump out the way, if I lost my footing I would have slide back into the path of the car and trailer.

Carrying my spade I ran, pursued by Alan doing an impression of Sebastian Loeb the car slewing from side to side and on the loose but here muddy bits. Suddenly it all came to a halt. The back of the trailer had grounded. Alan dug that out while I removed a large rock which simultaneously had wedged one of the back wheels.

Now the final challenge, the last bit of the hill from a standing dead start. The engine revving the combination moved 18 inches then started to slide back. I got behind the trailer. With a good solid grip for my feet I could get low with my face only a few feet from the ground. My hands on the trailer, it was like horizontal weight lifting. I held the weight of trailer and car sliding on to me. Then the front wheels found grip, then I pushed and drove forward to assist the engine. Then the set up would start to slide back, I had to hold the weight so we didn’t lose all the distance we had made. Slowly Alan, the car and myself got a rhythm. 18 inches forward then slide back a foot, then grip and push push push another 18 inch. Then hold the slide then another push and another 18 inches. We were not going to unload this trailer or get help.

I was back at school, a tight head prop. Not just wanting that couple of feet to get the ball, but desiring to destroy their scrum and drive them the length of the field and destroy any confidence they had they could even think of holding us.

Muscles from my toes, feet, calves, thighs, backside, stomach, back, chest, shoulders, arms and hands were all shouting “stop no more”.  No all or nothing. Exhaustion was creeping in. My heart had given up beating preferring a continual rasp like a lion purring.

If I stopped now I would never have the energy to start again from lower down the hill if the whole lot slide. The rhythm was there, become smoother and more predictable. No prisoners no surrender. Then it didn’t slide back, then it moved quicker, suddenly the trailer was away and gone from my hands.

I stood up straight getting air into burning lungs while taking in the view, across the valley of the Isla to the Sidlaw hills. Two cart horses had appeared, their heads over a nearby fence watching the whole event with nonplussed indifference.

There is something strangely bizarre about this world.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by ecolizzy on February 26, 2009 - 6:41 pm

    Roger what do you think about James Lovelock predictions? liz

  2. #2 by celticlion on February 26, 2009 - 8:36 pm

    Wow that comment came in blindside. Good evening Liz. Do you mean his ‘end of days’ scenario? Or is it something recent. He thinks we have or about to reach a point of no return re the collapse of the planets ecological life support systems. Absolutely I got to the same point independent of him. I have got the solutions and am going to raise the £ 2 billion to implement the first stage.

    Get back to me re what specific Lovelock predictions in case I have I missed something.

    I can then direct specific solutions.

    The solicitors seem very good! So hopefully Celtic lion can get on with what it intends.

  3. #3 by ecolizzy on February 26, 2009 - 9:14 pm

    He was on The Material World late this afternoon, but I have heard his theory before somewhere. I can’t say that I understand it all, but he wasn’t very optomistic about our future! He said the world would keep on going, but us as human beings would only be a fraction of the amount we are now, only the really tough ones would survive.

    It all sounded very pessimistic, but then it doesn’t really surprise me, but I can’t see how we can stop the rollercoaster ride now. He said there were too many people and their pets and farm animals. What do you suggest? Now there’s a big question!!! : ) I thought it sounded in your field.

    Glad the solicitor sounded positive.

  4. #4 by ecolizzy on February 26, 2009 - 9:21 pm

    I’ve just found this Roger http://rtv.rtrlondon.co.uk/2009-02-26/1c60b2b0.html perhaps he’s made another pronoucement i.e. it reallly is too late! liz

    • #5 by celticlion on February 27, 2009 - 12:05 am

      We have 3 – 4 years to sort the whole mess out otherwise complete extinction. The toughest will not survive, if society collapses there will be not enough to maintain nuclear reactors, toxic chemical dumps so we have the extinction of all higher life forms for 100 milion years or so until evolution gets a foothold again.
      Celtic Lion is well beyond Lovelock. We can avoid it!
      That’s what this is about.

      https://celticlion.wordpress.com/our-option/

      Ignore all the media about climate change in 20 or 50 years. They are climate change models only. I was discussing Lovelocks work line by line with one of the world’s top ecologists in 1982. Keep following the site. I’ll get back in touch.

  5. #6 by ecolizzy on February 27, 2009 - 9:41 am

    Good Morning Roger, I don’t think we have a hope in hell of sorting any of this out in 3 – 4 years! I’ve been keeping an eye on the degradation of our planet, not in a scientific way, just ordinary jo bloggs, I realise how everything is rapidly changing. Far too fast for people to comprehend.

    James Lockhead said he was born in Kent and in his youth cycled from Kent to Cornwall and back. He said we had a beautiful country back then, I understand he is almost 90, the same as my mother. He said the ride was a joy, will small hamlets of people who cared for each other, and worked where they lived. Listening to my mother I can realise what he meant. My mother used to go 10 miles to Canterbury in a horse and trap, which a farming friend had. So I have an eye on how things used to be. I also come from people who have worked the land and sea, so am very aware of how things have changed.

    I don’t think any of it can be stopped Roger, no one will want to change! Did you see James said we will be inundated with people who want to live here to escape their burning hot countries without food. I can see that happening.

    Raising 2 billion, why not ask Sir Fred to help you from his pension?!!! ; )

    I’ll keep an eye on what you are saying. liz

  1. How Long Have We Got To Live? « Celtic Lion

Leave a Reply

